Skip to content

Anything…

May 9, 2011

I have a weird feeling that I need to write something, but I can’t think of anything substantial. Strange feeling to have, for sure. Here’s some stuff I’ve been up to…

TedxRamallah was a decent event. I definitely liked the initiative, and I wasn’t able to sit for the whole thing, but I thought the speakers I heard were either underprepared or rambling. Looking forward to next year’s event though.

A somewhat funny story: Oroub Suboh, the host of TedxRamallah wanted to introduce the bloggers and tweeps covering the event; she passed the mic around for everybody to introduce himself. There was Ali, Ola, and some others, and then Kinzie. I was like: “Who on earth is Kinzie? Strange name, a foreigner, maybe?” and after five minutes it struck me: Kinzi, my treasure! Too bad I didn’t get to meet her.

The best speaker in my opinion was a Brazilian filmmaker who spoke, among other things, about why she chose to become a filmmaker. She said that narratives change people’s perspectives better than cold facts. I thought that was very interesting. She said it was backed up by research, but my five minute search on Google scholar came up empty. 🙂

Okay, you got enough of my wisdom already, enjoy 🙂

From → Misc.

2 Comments
  1. 🙂

    lucky u 4 attending

  2. I got to see the second half of it…Some did ramble, but some had some really cool presentations. The Geothermal dude (don’t know his name) was pretty cool!

Leave a Reply

