Skip to content

Online vs. Offline Personas…

January 18, 2011

When I blog or comment on other’s blogs, I feel my online persona is a mere extension of my offline persona, which is expected, of course. But when I first started the blog, I thought I might be able to express myself purely, all my faults and eccentricities included, just let it all out. What I came to learn however, is that a bloggers’ community is much like an offline community where assumptions and judgments are subconsciously made, I know that because I myself have certain assumptions on certain people, certain expectations about how they look like or how they behave.

I fear I may have been molded by that thought in my head, even though most readers probably aren’t concerned by my behavior. Anonymous bloggers probably don’t have that problem, or maybe they do, I don’t know.

What do you think?

From → Introspective

3 Comments
  1. It’s a part of human nature to judge, it’s just about teaching ourselves to let go of those assumptions and get to know the person infront of us. We all have different persona’s for different people, situations, occasions and places…adjusting to various situations, if you will.

  2. Haitham Al-Sheeshany permalink

    I agree that we shape expectations based on blogs and form opinions and all that depending on that, normal thing as in real (did I say real!, lol) offline life.

    I hear some friends are having problems with being who they are in their blogs because they have created certain image (mostly unintentionally) to their readers and feeling pressured to keep it that way!

    When we read posts, see certain features in a blog + the accumulation of all that, we tend to link a personality behind the blogger, the thing is how accurate is that, a question that can`t be fully utilized unless an elaboration is in place, and that mostly happens when you meet that person.
    My 2 piasters 🙂

    H.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Yet Another Life is Good Award Post | Ehab Thought

Leave a Reply

