Skip to content

Science Tongue-In-Cheek

December 21, 2010

A Western blot is a method of detecting protein in a sample of tissue; a commonly employed test used of to diagnose AIDS. As grave as AIDS is, the name Western blot is a play on the name of an earlier technique called Southern blot, a DNA detection technique developed by Edwin Southern. How cool is that?

Now, there are even more similar techniques, we have a Northern, Eastern, and even Southwestern blots!

Poor Mr. Southern must not have seen that coming, his name is all lost in this sea of directions! ๐Ÿ™‚

PS. I wanted to add a photo to this post but I don’t know how image copyrights work. Does anyone have a good idea? Where do bloggers get all the images from?

From → Life in Medicine

5 Comments
  1. lol ๐Ÿ™‚

    Most of the bloggers do not check out for copyrights

  2. “from your uncle Google!”

  3. I always assume that if it’s on the internet it’s “public domain”. If I know the photographer I will credit him in the caption. If the photo is watermarked with his copyright I “think” that gives him credit so I’m not presenting it as my own work.

  4. Sounds good enough…

  5. I just started blogging myself, but using WordPress on my own site. I discovered several plugins for finding and putting photos on your site. But I don’t know if they will work on wordpress.com.

    If not, you can go to flickr.com/creativecommons/ and do it manually.

    The 2 plugins I use are “WP Decoratr” (Automatically finds images from Flickr related to your post content), and “Photo Dropper” (Lets you add Creative commons licensed Photos to Your Posts from Flickr). I hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

