Skip to content

Baggage

November 5, 2010

Everyone has some sort of baggage, something in his past he might be proud of, a failed relationship, a career mistake, a wrong choice. All of this could reflect on his present, paralyze him, prevent him from action. How can one get rid of this baggage? How do you draw benefits from a past experience without having it undermine your present efforts?

I have to believe that mistakes are not a bad thing, in fact, they each us what not to do. Then, I can simply learn from my past mistakes plus I can go on confidently in life knowing that any mistake I make will make me wiser.

Also, I will probably need to believe that the past has little bearing on the present, this way I no longer have fear due to past failures. I still think a little amount of fear is healthy, but it shouldn’t be associated with past events.

Of course, this whole beliefs business is easier said than done, but I think that’s a good way to handle the baggage… Any ideas?

6 Comments
  1. haitham permalink

    Well, looking at “mistakes” as “learning opportunities” is nice and rational, but the execution is hard!

    Sometimes we get stuck in a “past” so as to make excuses for ourselves (self-pitty), no? 😦

    I think it`s a skill that needs practicing!

    H.

  2. I agree, we all have baggage…It’s not just about learning but letting go. I find the hardest thing for me is to let go of the past.

    I would have to agree with Haitham, it’s a skill that needs practicing.

  3. Yeah I agree we should practice…

    Haitham, why don’t you link to your blog in your comments, I saw it the other day by coincidence? πŸ™‚

  4. Haitham Al-Sheeshany permalink

    I thought I did! O_o_ , loool , my bad!

    H.

  5. Well,you said it yourself,the mistakes we made in the past are some of the things that made us who we are so we should just live with them,you can’t go back and change it so just get over it! πŸ˜›
    You called it fear associated with past events,but it should be just caution based on your experiences
    I try not to think about my past too much because at the end it is a part of me,and forgetting something wouldn’t make it disappear..
    Good luck πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Baggage | Ehab Thought -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

